Culture Centre in Miska Glava

Location: Village Miska Glava, Prijedor

Importance of the locality:

The Culture Centre in Miska Glava is located in the eponymous village some 20 kilometres west of Prijedor. Prisoners were held at the Miska Glava Culture Centre from 21 to 25 July 1992. The staff at the Miska Glava Culture Centre detention facility was working under the leadership of the Prijedor Municipality Crisis Staff and the Army of Republika Srpska (VRS). On 21 July 1992, a group of 114 prisoners were brought by buses to Miska Glava. The prisoners were regularly taken out of the room where they were confined and beaten. There were over a hundred men, Bosniaks and Croats, who were beaten and abused, and many prisoners died from the injuries they sustained. The surviving prisoners were forced to load their bodies onto vehicles. Prisoners from the Culture Centre were later transferred to the football stadium in Ljubija.

Entity: Republika Srpska

Ethnic group: Bosniaks, predominantly Croats

Area that victims came from: Prijedor

Responsibility: VRS and MUP

Court trials:

The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted a number of people under the command responsibility doctrine for crimes committed in Bosanska Krajina. Radoslav Brđanin, president of the ARK Crisis Staff, was convicted for war crimes committed in multiple municipalities in BiH and sentenced to 32 years in prison; Momčilo Krajišnik, speaker of the Republika Srpska National Assembly, was sentenced to 27 years in prison; Biljana Plavšić, wartime member of the Presidency of Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 11 years in prison; Mićo Stanišić, wartime Minister of the Interior or Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 22 years in prison; Stojan Župljanin, chief of the Banja Luka Public Security Centre, was sentenced to 22 years in prison; the ICTY sentenced Milomir Stakić, president of the Prijedor Municipality Crisis Staff, to 40 years in prison. Radovan Karadžić, as the president of Republika Srpska and commander in chief of its armed forces, was sentenced to life imprisonment.

Data source: ICTY (updated 06.12.2019)

Marked and photographed: 28.03.2018.


Updated: 06.02.2020

Army of Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina - ARBiH
Security services command centre - CSB
Herzeg Bosnia - HB
Croat Defense Forces - HOS
Army of Croatia - HV
Croat Defense Council - HVO
Yugoslav National Army - JNA
International Crime Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia - ICTY
Ministry of Interior - MUP
People's Defense of the Autonomous Province of Western Bosnia - NO APZB
Police station - SJB
Serb Army of Krajina - SVK
Territorial defense of Bosnia-Herzegovina - TO BiH
Army of Republic of Srpska - VRS
Army of Yugoslavia - VJ