Auxiliary facility at the Public Security Station

Location: Prijedor

Importance of the locality:

In 1992, the Serb authorities in the Prijedor Municipality held civilians, predominantly Croats and Bosniaks, prisoner in 58 detention facilities and concentration centres. The SJB building was mostly used as a transit centre for prisoners being transferred to Omarska, while the SJB auxiliary facility was used as a site of detention for Bosniak And Croat civilians. It was located behind the main police building, in the yard, and had only one cell. The cell was two by three metres and 30 prisoners were confined in it. The prisoners were abused and beaten on a daily basis. The police transferred the prisoners from the SJB to the Omarska camp, but before they left, the prisoners were forced to walk through a “gauntlet” of policemen who beat them as they passed.

Entity: Republika Srpska

Ethnic group: Bosniaks, predominantly Croats

Area that victims came from: Prijedor

Responsibility: MUP and VRS

Court trials:

The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted a number of people under the command responsibility doctrine for crimes committed in Bosanska Krajina. Radoslav Brđanin, president of the ARK Crisis Staff, was convicted for war crimes committed in multiple municipalities in BiH and sentenced to 32 years in prison; Momčilo Krajišnik, speaker of the Republika Srpska National Assembly, was sentenced to 27 years in prison; Biljana Plavšić, wartime member of the Presidency of Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 11 years in prison; Mićo Stanišić, wartime Minister of the Interior or Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 22 years in prison; Stojan Župljanin, chief of the Banja Luka Public Security Centre, was sentenced to 22 years in prison; the ICTY sentenced Milomir Stakić, president of the Prijedor Municipality Crisis Staff, to 40 years in prison. Radovan Karadžić, as the president of Republika Srpska and commander in chief of its armed forces, was sentenced to life imprisonment.

Data source: ICTY (updated 06.12.2019)

Marked and photographed: 28.03.2018.


Updated: 06.02.2020

Army of Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina - ARBiH
Security services command centre - CSB
Herzeg Bosnia - HB
Croat Defense Forces - HOS
Army of Croatia - HV
Croat Defense Council - HVO
Yugoslav National Army - JNA
International Crime Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia - ICTY
Ministry of Interior - MUP
People's Defense of the Autonomous Province of Western Bosnia - NO APZB
Police station - SJB
Serb Army of Krajina - SVK
Territorial defense of Bosnia-Herzegovina - TO BiH
Army of Republic of Srpska - VRS
Army of Yugoslavia - VJ