Military prison

Location: Ljubuški

Importance of the locality:

The building of the Military Prison in Ljubuški was used from April 1993 until March 1994 as a camp for captured Bosniak civilians and Bosniak prisoners of war from ARBiH, and was run by the HVO Military Police. The prisoners were physically abused, forcibly displaced and killed.

Entity: Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Ethnic group: Bosniaks

Area that victims came from: Ljubuški, Čapljina and Stolac

Responsibility: HVO Military Police

Court trials:

For crimes committed at Military Prison in Ljubuški, the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted the wartime president of HVO and prime minister of HZHB Jadranko Prlić, under the doctrine of command responsibility, and sentenced him to 25 years in prison; the head of the HZHB Department of Defence Bruno Stojić was sentenced to 20 years in prison; the commander of the HVO Main Staff Slobodan Praljak was sentenced to 20 years in prison; the chief of the HVO Main Staff and deputy commander of the HVO forces Milivoje Petković was sentenced to 20 years in prison; the head of the HVO Military Police Administration Valentin Ćorić was sentenced to 16 years in prison; and the head of the Service for Prisoner Exchange Berislav Pušić was sentenced to 10 years in prison.
For crimes committed at the Military Prison in Ljubuški, the Court of BiH convicted the prison warden Ivan Kraljević, sentencing him to one year and three months in prison, and members of the HVO Military Police, Stojan Odak, sentenced to two years and six months in prison, and Vice Bebek, sentenced to one year in prison.

Data source: ICTY and Court of BiH (updated 20.11.2020)

Marked and photographed: 29.11.2020


Updated: 04.07.2021

Army of Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina - ARBiH
Security services command centre - CSB
Herzeg Bosnia - HB
Croat Defense Forces - HOS
Army of Croatia - HV
Croat Defense Council - HVO
Yugoslav National Army - JNA
International Crime Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia - ICTY
Ministry of Interior - MUP
People's Defense of the Autonomous Province of Western Bosnia - NO APZB
Police station - SJB
Serb Army of Krajina - SVK
Territorial defense of Bosnia-Herzegovina - TO BiH
Army of Republic of Srpska - VRS
Army of Yugoslavia - VJ