warehouses of the former JNA barracks in Ševarlije

Location: Doboj

Importance of the locality:

The warehouse buildings of the former JNA barracks in Ševarlije near Doboj were used from May 1992 until the end of 1993 as a detention facility for Bosniak and Croat civilians that was run by the Army of RS, members of CSB Doboj MUP RS and members of paramilitary units. Prisoners were subjected to detention, forced labour, inhumane conditions, and interrogations and abuse.

Entity: Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Ethnic group: Bosniaks

Area that victims came from: Doboja and the surrounding area

Responsibility: VRS, CSB Doboj MUP RS and paramilitary units

Court trials:

The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted Momčilo Krajišnik, the wartime speaker of the National Assembly of Republika Srpska, for crimes committed at the warehouses of the former JNA barracks in Sevarlije near Doboj, under the doctrine of command responsibility, and sentenced him to 20 years in prison. Biljana Plavšić, wartime member of the Presidency of Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 11 years in prison. Mićo Stanišić, wartime minister of the interior of Republika Srpska, and Stojan Župljanin, head of the Banja Luka Public Security Centre, were each sentenced to 22 years in prison.

The trial in the case of Borislav Paravac and others is currently under way before the Court of BiH. Borislav Paravac, Andrija Bjelošević and Milan Savić stand accused that in the period from early May 1992 to the end of 1993, they participated in a joint criminal endeavour against the Bosniak and Croat civilian population in the area of Doboj.

Data source: ICTY, Court of BiH (updated 18.03.2021)

Marked and photographed: 27.02.2021


Updated: 04.07.2021

Army of Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina - ARBiH
Security services command centre - CSB
Herzeg Bosnia - HB
Croat Defense Forces - HOS
Army of Croatia - HV
Croat Defense Council - HVO
Yugoslav National Army - JNA
International Crime Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia - ICTY
Ministry of Interior - MUP
People's Defense of the Autonomous Province of Western Bosnia - NO APZB
Police station - SJB
Serb Army of Krajina - SVK
Territorial defense of Bosnia-Herzegovina - TO BiH
Army of Republic of Srpska - VRS
Army of Yugoslavia - VJ