Rogoj Mountain Pass, Trnovo

Location: Trnovo

Importance of the locality:

On 3 August 1992, civilians Suljić Remza, Bičo Nasuf, Rogoj Nezir and Čusto Zaim were taken from the Gunpowder Warehouse camp and were found handcuffed and dead the same day in the Rogoj area.

Entity: Republika Srpska

Ethnic group: Bosniaks

Area that victims came from: Kalinovik and surrounding villages, some of the captured civilians were from Trnovo and Foča.

Responsibility: VRS

Court trials:

For crimes committed in the area of Kalinovik, the Court of BiH convicted Ratko Bundalo, sentencing him to 19 years in prison, while Neđo Zeljaj was sentenced to 15, Novica Tripković to 8 and Đorđislav Aškraba to 7 years in prison for crimes against the civilian population of the Kalinovik area.

For war crimes committed in the Kalinovik area, the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted Momčilo Krajišnik, the wartime speaker of the National Assembly of Republika Srpska, and sentenced him to 20 years in prison. Biljana Plavšić, wartime member of the Presidency of Republika Srpska, was sentenced to 11 years in prison, while Ratko Mladić, the wartime Commander of the Main Staff of the Army of Republika Srpska, was sentenced to life in prison.
For crimes committed in Kalinovik and Foča, the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) convicted the commander of the special volunteer unit Dragoslav Kunarac Žaga and sentenced him to 28 years in prison.

The High Court in Belgrade sentenced Dalibor Krstović to 9 years in prison for crimes against the civilian population committed in Kalinovik.

Commemorations: Every year on 25 June, Istina-Kalinovik ‘92, the association of families of missing persons from the Kalinovik Municipality, visits former detention facilities and sites of execution to mark the Day of Memory commemorating killed Bosniaks of Kalinovik and the surrounding area.

Data source: ICTY, Court of BiH, High Court in Belgrade

Marked and photographed: 28.10.2023


Updated: 13.12.2023

Army of Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina - ARBiH
Security services command centre - CSB
Herzeg Bosnia - HB
Croat Defense Forces - HOS
Army of Croatia - HV
Croat Defense Council - HVO
Yugoslav National Army - JNA
International Crime Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia - ICTY
Ministry of Interior - MUP
People's Defense of the Autonomous Province of Western Bosnia - NO APZB
Police station - SJB
Serb Army of Krajina - SVK
Territorial defense of Bosnia-Herzegovina - TO BiH
Army of Republic of Srpska - VRS
Army of Yugoslavia - VJ